This year’s educational art exhibit Articles of a Treatyfocuses on the articles of the 1868 Fort Laramie Treaty between the “different bands of the Sioux Nation of Indians” and the United States. The title is the first four words of the treaty.

The 1868 Fort Laramie Treaty contains seventeen articles. Each article is interpreted by one or two artists. These thirty-two individuals are the visual artists of the exhibit. Poets and musicians also created works for Articles of a Treaty. There is one poem and one song associated with each article.

A team of educational advisors is also developing K-12 curriculum based on the exhibit. This curriculum will include activities for incorporating the exhibit into classrooms while meeting tribe, national and state standards.

Finally, CAIRNS will also develop a community-based version of the exhibit that consists of high-quality reproductions of the artworks printed on standard-sized panels. These can be exhibited in schools, conference rooms, business lobbies, community buildings, libraries and other venues. The goal is to make the exhibit widely accessible.

Center for American Indian Research and Native Studies (CAIRNS)

  1. (605)685-6484

Articles of a Treaty Exhibit



Opens May 27, 2019

Akta Lakota Museum and Cultural Center, Chamberlain, SD

South Dakota Art Museum, Brookings, SD (2019-20)

The Heritage Center at Red Cloud Indian School, SD (2020)

Dahl Arts Center, Rapid City, SD (2021)

The Brinton Museum, Big Horn, WY (2022)


Wopila Tanka/Thank You

This exhibit is made possible in large part by encouragement and financial support from good people and organizations nearby and far away. If you would like to join in supporting Articles of a Treaty, we will be grateful. Click here for more information about supporting this exhibit. All donations will be recognized and are tax deductible.

Exhibit Staff

Craig Howe, PhD


Terri Fried


Mabel Picotte


Deanna Stands


Peri Strain


LaRayne Woster



Detail of an artwork by Andrea Lekberg for this exhibit


Leah Zimmer


Anne Siri Renaa

David Lautenberger

Mark Gabel

Wilbert & Patricia Whitley


Chris and Gabrielle Seeley

Cynthia Redetzke

Father Peter J. Powell

Foundation for the Preservation of American Indian Art & Culture

Harvey Markowitz

Hopa Mountain

Jan & Gene

Janet & Roger Haight

Steve Wyant


South Dakota Community Foundation

Additional Support

National Endowment for the Arts

South Dakota Arts Council